As IUSM progresses toward its new integrated curriculum, the six ACGME categories have been used to organize the instructional learning objectives. These categories are Medical Knowledge, Patient Care, Systems Based Practice, Practice Based Learning and Improvement, Interpersonal and Communication Skills and Professionalism.

The Curriculum Council Steering Committee recently approved transitioning to the new competency organization for our current curriculum starting with the 2014-15 academic year. See chart below:


Competency Director 2014 Competency Prior Core Competency
Cory Pitre (PC) Patient Care (2) Basic Clinical Skills
Glenda Westmoreland (ICS) Interpersonal Communication Skills (1) Effective Communication
Regina Kreisle (MK) Medical Knowledge (3) Using Science to Guide Diagnosis, Management, Therapeutics & Prevention
Liam Howley (P) Professionalism (7) Moral Reasoning & Ethical Judgment (9) Professionalism & Role Recognition (5) Self-Awareness, Self-Care & Personal Growth
TBD (PBLI) Practice Based Learning and Improvement

(4) Lifelong, Learning (5) Self-Awareness, Self-Care & Pesonal Growth (8) Problem Solving


Rohit Das (SBP) Systems Based Practice (6) Social & Community Contexts of Health Care

What does this mean?

For 2014-15, the day-to-day curriculum will not look much different; care is being taken to preserve valuable parts of the competency curriculum. Each of the current nine competencies has been aligned with one or more of the new six competencies. However, the current concept of Level 1, 2, and 3 will no longer be utilized. The elements of level 1 and 2 are being incorporated into formal promotion and graduation requirements for students to be promoted from one year to the next. Students who graduate from IUSM after June 1, 2014 will not be required to achieve level 3 in three competencies. As we revise elective offerings this year course directors will be able to incorporate valuable components of the level 3 experiences into the actual elective offering instead of being an optional component of the experience.

Additional changes in the grading scheme have also been approved for the 2014-15 academic year. The previously separate competency transcript will be incorporated into the standard transcript and will show any existing isolated deficiencies in a specific competency for all four years. As Medical Knowledge is paramount to a Foundational Science course in years 1 and 2, an Isolated Deficiency in Medical Knowledge will not be a grade option. For the same reason, an Isolated Deficiency in Patient Care will not be permitted in the Clinical Science courses in years 3 and 4.

This transition brings the school one step closer to realizing the vision of our new curriculum and will allow us to make modificaitons to our infrastructure in preparation for its implementation in August of 2015.

Links to CCSC approved policies:

Revised Grade Policy:

Next Steps Document:

2014-2015 Institutional Learning Objectives:

CEG (Clinical Education Guidelines)


MSA (Medical Student Affairs)


1130 West Michigan St. | Fesler Hall 213 | Indianapolis, IN | 46202-3772 | (317) 274-3772